Thursday, July 1, 2010

The Ardbeg Committee celebrates 10 years

ardbeg committee logoThe Ardbeg Committee is about to celebrate it's 10th anniversary with a series of special events. The Committee was founded in 2000 and the idea was that if enough people signed up, then it would secure and support the long term future of the distillery. Ten years later, Ardbeg have attracted a staggering 45,000 Committee members from over 90 different countries around the globe. Membership gives the opportunity to buy exclusive bottlings or to get first pickings for new bottlings, such as the recent Rollercoaster and the 2010 release of Supernova. It also gives other special offers and access to the exclusive member's area on the innovative and interactive Ardbeg website.

If you are not a Committee member already and would like to join, then you can sign up for free on their website

The Ardbeg distillery is located on the western Scottish island of Islay (pronounced eye-la), which is the home of the smoky style of whisky. It is located in the south east of the island and produces some of the peatiest, smokiest whiskies in the world. Ardbeg was founded in 1815 by John MacDougall, although records show that a distillery was operating on the site since 1794. The current owners are drinks company Moet Hennessey and the distillery has a capacity of approximately one million litres per year. Ardbeg was closed for lengthy periods in the 1980s and 1990s, before re-opening in 1997. The Ardbeg Committee was set up in 2000 to support the continued survival of the distillery and to ensure that it remains in production and never closes again.

For details of two forthcoming UK events to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Ardbeg Committee - click here.

No comments: